And the Award Goes to…

Dolls-Dollt-Cry_Frederick-Tremblay_festival-1 kopio

The Saturday evening at Turku Animated Film Festival 2017 culminated in the award ceremony. The Grand Prix went to Dolls Don’t Cry directed by Frédérick Tremblay (Canada, 2017).

The Jury described the winner as “a beautiful film made by a master – an introspective journey, the cinema inside cinema, the life inside life. An honest look on the filmmaker’s reality through a journey into the fantastic.”

The Grand Prix worth €1,000 is sponsored by YLE Uusi Kino.

The Tough Eye Award was awarded to Wednesday with Goddard (United Kingdom, 2016) by Nicolas Ménard.

According to the Jury, ”the film is witty, humorous and brightly told. Poetic and ironic at the same time, the director searches for an external truth avoiding the cages of religious dogma.”

The award for the Best Professional Film went to The Empty by Dahee Jeong (Korea, 2016) – ”an enigmatic transformation of a vibrant experience and memories into an empty space, in which a sentimental tension still exists; a masterful, sensitively told visual poem.”

The Best Student Film of the year is Nari Jang’s My Father’s Room (2016, Korea), ”a dramatic personal experience turned into poetic, yet disturbing visual voyage.”

In addition, the Jury awarded a Special Mention to Volcano Island by Anna Katalin Lovrity (Hungary, 2017).

The Jury members were Milos Tomic (Serbia), Yiorgos Tsangaris (Cyprus) and Anu-Laura Tuttelberg (Estonia).

The Audience Award went to Negative Space by Max Porter and Ru Kuwahata (France, 2017).

Congratulations to all winners!