For five days, Manilla’s Culturefactory will be filled with the latest jewels of animation.

TAFF’s program once again covers the boldest and most insightful films of recent international animation from the past two years. From more than 2,000 short films submitted, 29 animations from different countries were selected for the competition series. In addition to the main competition series, there are competitions for Finnish films as well as films for younger audience.
In addition to the competitions, animated documentaries and music videos also have their own screenings. Thursday and on Saturday the Sarjis show to be seen offers glimpses to those hungry for nostalgia, when in addition to modern cartoon-based animations, you get to admire Jasso-Kissa as well as Rieku and Raiku. Films of competition judges from the period of their career are shown in the jury’s title screenings. The screenings feature animations by Daniel Šuljić, Renata Gąsiorowska, Lucija Mrzljak and Julian Gallese.
This year, the two-day TAFF Pro program, aimed at professionals, focuses on combining animation and comics. Professional section organized on Thursday and Friday will have master classes and panels with award-winning artists who combine comics and animation, as well as a wide range of production professionals. The main language of TAFF Pro is English.
After the audience restrictions of the last few years, the popular TAFF Junior school screenings have returned in full measure to the festival’s program – the first screenings were already fully booked on the day of their release! TAFF Junior school performances can be watched by pre-school and elementary school students in the Turku area. Open to everyone and free for kids under 16, the TAFF Junior screenings start the festival days of the weekend on Saturday and Sunday.
Throughout the festival, Aurinkobaletti’s bar and terrace offer refreshment for the thirsty. Today TAFF and Kirjakahvila will jointly organize an open-air screening, showing the film Aya of Yop City, based on the comic by Marguerite Abouet and Clément Oubrerie.